The Royal Museum and Free Library was founded in 1858 and moved to the Beaney Institute in 1891 following a bequest by George Beaney to build an ‘Institute for Working Men’. The building is on the High Street and is bigger than it looks, housing an information centre, modern library, cafe and several exhibition rooms. Entry is free and it is child friendly with tables for games and drawing. The Beaney is an award winning facility with exhibitions, educational facilities and events. Website ⇒.
Just a few of the exhibits :- .
Kent was a summertime haunt for travelers and people from the East End of London to engage in hop picking.
And, part of a temporary exhibition by Grayson Perry called “The Vanity of Small Differences”.
20 pics. Fenton House is not spectacular but it is very charming with a large collection of porcelain (including Meissen) together with several musical instruments and paintings. Its website is here (it isn’t open every day and there is a charge but there are occasional concerts) and some of its history here.
The above view of the gardens is from the third floor balcony and in the distance can be seen The Admirals House (where the origins of Mary Poppins was written) which has its own history here.
One can photograph everywhere except the harpsichord in the dining room (it belongs to the Queen) and the large framed pictures on the third floor.
Unfortunately there is no café but there several places for refreshment near the corner of Mount Square and Heath Street and along New End there is The Duke of Hamilton and The Buttery of Burgh House (they are all on Google Maps).
Not far away, just to the north of Hampstead Heath, is Kenwood House which is free to enter.